Hanna Crowley/Mustang News

Agricultural sciences junior Jana Colombini and mechanical engineering senior Isaias Diaz waited in anticipation in the Julian A. McPhee University Union Plaza for the results for the 2016-17 Associated Students, Inc. (ASI) President.

When it was announced that Colombini would be Cal Poly’s ASI president-elect, her supporters broke into a cheer and lifted her into the air.

Colombini received 3,861 votes. Numbers for total votes have not been released.

Her campaign would not have been possible without the support of her family and friends, she said, specially her brother and former ASI President Jason Colombini.

“I honestly really can’t find the words; I’m really thankful for everyone who voted for me,” Colombini said. “My campaign team has been supporting me for the past couple of weeks. My brother Jason has been there for me every step of the way.”

While Diaz did not win the election, Colombini hopes to see him as a leader in the university.

“Isaias did a great job, I am so thankful that we both had just great campaigns,” Colombini said. “I have a lot of respect for him, I appreciate him on all aspects and I hope he continues to be involved in ASI or the university because he’s a great leader.”

Diaz declined to comment.

The unofficial results for the ASI Board of Directors representatives were announced as well. 

College of Science and Mathematics (five seats)

There is one spot that has not been filled for COSAM and will be determined soon. Only three candidates officially ran for office.

  • Lexie Bonestroo – 322 votes
  • Jason Marks – 236 votes
  • Kenneth Day – 192 votes
  • Hayley Ford (write-in candidate) – 37 votes

College of Liberal Arts (five seats)

  • Matt Klepfer – 261 votes
  • Chase Dean – 255 votes
  • Ryan Durante – 218 votes
  • Cyrus Ebadat – 177 votes
  • Rita Elfarissi – 176 votes

College of Engineering (five seats)

  • Danielle Hepperle – 507 votes
  • John D’Ambrosio – 378 votes
  • Kevin Scott – 315 votes
  • Josh Ledgerwood – 291 votes
  • John Griffin – 288 votes

Orfalea College of Business (four seats)

  • Hannah Poplack – 333 votes
  • Jun Bang – 306 votes
  • Connor Rudolph – 251 votes
  • Alice Read – 249 votes

College of Agricultural, Food and Environmental Sciences (five seats)

  • Riley Nilsen – 473 votes
  • Tony Lopes – 442 votes
  • Haley Warner – 376 votes
  • Jenna Rose Lee – 283 votes
  • Matthew Pirtle – 270 votes

College of Architecture and Environmental Design (three seats)

  • Tyler Lee – 113 votes
  • Paul Ponciano – 104 votes
  • Jocelyn Lu – 81 votes

The results will become official once they are ratified by the ASI Board of Directors on April 27.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *